How to backup and store your family photos from your iPhone using Google+

I hear dreaded stories from people who have lost thousands of family photos and have no way of restoring them. I usually write technical and marketing related articles so I’ve gone off topic on this post to help some people save some photo memories.

When people lose photos it usually happens one of two ways.

  1. Don’t backup their computer which has all their photos.
  2. They lose their mobile phone which has all their photos.

This is how I automatically backup the photos and videos from my iPhone and store them in a private folder online.

It will take you 5 steps after you download and login to the app. You will have no more stress or worries about your photos.

First go and setup a Google account (if you don’t already have one) then activate Google+.

Secondly install the Google+ App for iPhone or Android. When you first open the App you will login with your Google account details. At this point you may be prompted to backup all your photos right away. I would choose to do this later when you at home and have mains power at hand. The upload process will use up lots of battery even over wireless on the first upload.

Step 1

Click on the menu icon top left (3 lines).

20130906-201252.jpg

Step 2

Click the Cog wheel icon to go to the settings menu.

20130906-201459.jpg

Step 3

Next in the settings menu click ‘Camera and Photos‘ link.

20130906-201542.jpg

Step 4

Click ‘Auto Backup‘ to go to the backup menu.

20130906-201636.jpg

Step 5

Now in the ‘Auto Backup‘ menu turn Auto Backup ON. I select backup photos ‘Over Wi-Fi only‘ to save battery power. Obviously if I lost my phone when I was out I would lose any photos taken that day. I can live with that.

If you haven’t yet backed up any photos you can hit the bottom link ‘Back up all photos and videos‘ and the App will begin to upload all photos and videos. Be warned it could take a few hours if you have thousands of photos.

20130906-201726.jpg

Done

Once the backup has completed all your photos are stored in a private folder inside your Google+ account. The photos are private and you can share them with family and friends or just leave them for backup.

You now have peace of mind that your phone photos and videos are backed up. If you have been out taking pictures open the Google+ App on your phone when you return home and your most recent photos and videos will start to upload. Videos will take longer to upload but you must remember to open the App for pictures to automatically backup.

Do this now!

This can save years of family photos you have on your phone. Do yourself a favour and backup your photos.

Comments

  1. Thank you for writing this guide.

Leave a Reply

FREE MARKETING COURSE
DELIVERED OVER 7 DAYS!

Discover some basic principles about marketing your business.

Your E-mail:
Your Name:
x